Rod Liddle: Write a leftie column and win a doctorate

I can scarcely believe I’m recommending an article containing the words, ‘… the excellent lesbian feminist writer Julie Bindel got it right …’, but the article in the current edition of The Spectator was written by Rod Liddle, a columnist I much admire. The magazine is worth subscribing to for his column alone, leaving aside the point that it’s invariably available to access at no cost online. Someone needs to pay for quality columnists.

Last October, Ms Bindel was our Toxic Feminist of the Month. In January 2014 she claimed in the course of a debate at Durham University that I’d lied about a website she was associated with – in front of an audience of 300+ people, almost all of them students – and later apologised privately for her error in having done so. Predictably, she refused to apologise publicly – no prominent feminist has ever apologised publicly for anything, to the best of my knowledge – so I published this account of the matter.

I was reliably informed in the hours before the debate that young ladies belonging to the Durham University Feminist Society – ‘DUFferS’ to their non-feminist colleagues, pleasingly – had planned to picket the event, but had called it off, because it was a little chilly, and the forecast was for light rain. In Durham, in January. Inconceivable.

About Mike Buchanan

I'm a men's human rights advocate, writer, and publisher. My primary focus is leading the political party I launched in 2013, Justice for Men & Boys (and the women who love them). I still work actively on two campaigns I launched in early 2012, Campaign for Merit in Business and the Anti-Feminism League. In 2014 I launched The Alternative Sexism Project, aiming to raise public understanding that the sexism faced by men and boys has far more grievous consequences than the sexism faced by women and girls.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

