A prisoner (who claims to be the victim of a false rape allegation) writes…

From time to time I receive letters from men incarcerated in British prisons, and I always respond to them. Most claim to be the victims of false rape allegations. One such man recently wrote to me for the first time, strongly supporting our stance in this area, and said J4MB had been mentioned briefly in Converse, which claims to be ‘the highest circulation national prisons newspaper’.

I couldn’t find the article online, so I asked him if he could send me the cutting, and he did – here. It followed the media fuss – mainly in The Guardian, what are the chances? – over Philip Davies MP speaking at the second International Conference on Men’s Issues. Philip spoke about the justice gender gap, a video (44:48) of his talk is here.

The piece referred to our website featuring a piece by Janet Bloomfield (‘JudgyBitch’), published in December 2014, 13 reasons women lie about being raped. We’re surprised it didn’t also refer to our website featuring Hannah Wallen’s Six dangerous rape myths or Jonathan Taylor’s Ten reasons false rape allegations are common.

The latest letter, which accompanied the cutting:

Dear Mike,

Thank you for your swift reply and your concern about my present situation.

I have attached the cutting which I took from Converse, sorry that it is marked but it is difficult to keep things in a pristine condition in here.

You have my deepest admiration for your efforts to put men back on a level playing field and for exposing the women who are making false claims which have resulted in so many of us being convicted and losing our freedom.

The legislation which allows allegations to be considered ‘evidence’ should be revoked because all convictions should require proof, not hearsay!

While I appreciate your understanding of my financial situation (I had politely declined his generous offer of regular donations from his very small prison earnings) I still wish to support your cause as much as I possibly can and I would like to make a donation in the future.

If everyone who read this gave us just £1 – or even better, £1 monthly – we could change the world. Click here to make a difference. Thanks.

About Mike Buchanan

I'm a men's human rights advocate, writer, and publisher. My primary focus is leading the political party I launched in 2013, Justice for Men & Boys (and the women who love them). I still work actively on two campaigns I launched in early 2012, Campaign for Merit in Business and the Anti-Feminism League. In 2014 I launched The Alternative Sexism Project, aiming to raise public understanding that the sexism faced by men and boys has far more grievous consequences than the sexism faced by women and girls.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A prisoner (who claims to be the victim of a false rape allegation) writes…

  1. nrjnigel says:

    The issue of the traducing of defendant’s rights to fair trial is a political issue. Rightly the business of a political party. I must commend you for also giving recognition on the human level. I hope you do find a way to let this chap and others help. In my experience the most disabled or “low” search for the means to “give” something back. Its a basic human need to feel needed and understood. I have not extensive experience of working with suicidal people but in that experience it is people that believe they have no value to anyone.

  2. The guys right at the bottom who all this effects the most, are hearing about your work Mike.
    My heart goes out to him.

  3. holocaust21 says:

    A very sad, heartwarming letter indeed. Please publish more of these Mike – the world needs to know what’s really going on! I have to say from my observations of the MRA movement so far a lot of the discussion has centered on men being ARRESTED for a false rape allegation, however, not enough emphasis has been put on the fact that not only do men get arrested but they also get CONVICTED on false rape charges. And when they are convicted their lives change forever, they will be assaulted/raped/killed in prison assuming they don’t kill themselves first. And if they ever get released then they get placed on the “Sex Offender Register” – that vile hate-filled piece of legislation borrowed from the Nazis – which our courts apparently consider to not be punishment. Which is ironic as I think everyone except feminists consider it punishment, and even feminists know it is about punishment but they lie and claim it is about protecting children which is absurd given that about the only thing that one CAN do while on the sex offender register is to rape a child! Stable employment, housing, relationships, all banned.

Leave a Reply

